Puerto Rico Island



Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico, officially the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, is an unincorporated territory of the United States, located in the northeastern Caribbean, east of the Dominican Republic and west of both the United States Virgin Islands and the British Virgin Islands. Puerto Rico comprises an archipelago that includes the main island of Puerto Rico and a number of smaller islands, the largest of which are Vieques, Culebra, and Mona.  Source

map of Puerto Rico


Weather and Climate of Puerto Rico

Mean temperatures in Puerto Rico vary little between the warmest and coldest months. The smallest ranges are near the coast where daily and monthly temperature variation is tempered by the sea. Monthly mean temperatures on the northern coast vary between about 80 degrees in August, the warmest month, to 75 degrees in January and February, the coolest.

Further inland slightly larger ranges are observed and hotter and colder mean monthly temperatures occur. Daily temperature fluctuations reflect the same patterns with ranges between 10-15 on the northern and eastern coasts, increasing to between 15-20 further inland. In the drier south and southwest changes may fluctuate 15-20 or more. In the south, temperatures may reach greater than 90 F for more than 200 days of the year. Freezing temperatures are unknown in Puerto Rico though many mountain areas experience
temperatures in the 40s.

The trade winds that come from east to west across the island from the Atlantic bring most of the rain that falls from May to November. Depending on their intensity and speed, these winds can produce little more than a few clouds to several days of cloudy and rainy weather, and occasionally hurricanes.

The other rain period occurs during winter months from November to April. Because Puerto Rico is in the seasonal tropics it is susceptible to cold fronts that can sweep south across the continental United States. These fronts can bring rain particularly to the northeastern part of the island. Occasionally fronts are strong enough to penetrate across the whole island bringing with them several days of rain. Source

 Puerto Rico Temperature

Click for San Juan, Puerto Rico Forecast

The entry requirements for Puerto Rico are the same as for entry requirements into the United States.

To enter Puerto Rico visitors must have:

A passport valid for at 6 months from the date arrival
A hotel reservation or letter of invitation, (if staying with friends)
A return or onward ticket if flying by commercial carrier

Nationals from the following countries are eligible for the visa waiver program:

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

The visa waiver is valid for a maximum of 90 days.

Additional Visa/Entry Requirements Information