Jamaica Island




Jamaica is an island nation of the Greater Antilles, 145 miles in length, up to 50 miles in width and 4,243 square miles in area. It is located in the Caribbean Sea, about 90 miles south of Cuba.  The island is a British Commonwealth that gained independence in 1962. Source

 Map of Jamaica


Weather and Climate of Jamaica 

Generally the Jamaican climate is delightful. The average temperature is 77°F (25.5°C) in the winter months and 82°F (28°C) in the summer, but the island’s climate is strongly affected by the sea, which can produce cloud cover, rain and wind, and have a sudden effect on temperatures.

The coastal plains of the north shore benefit from the Trade Winds that blow off the Atlantic. These are supplemented by morning and evening breezes caused by the land heating up by day and cooling at night. In the mountains, the evenings may be a little cold, so visitors might want to take a light wrap or jersey.

There are two rainy seasons, in May, and from August to October, but even then it doesn’t rain every day. Rain-showers are frequent, particularly in the northeast, though the sun usually comes out immediately afterwards and dries up all the rain. Source 

Jamaica Temperature

Click for Kingston, Jamaica Forecast

To enter Jamaica visitors must have:

A passport with at least 6 months validity from the date of entry
A return or onward ticket if flying by commercial carrier

Nationals from the following countries do not need visas to visit Jamaica. (6 month visa can be obtained upon arrival):

Antigua, Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize,
Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, Finland, Fiji, France, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guyana, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Kiribati, Liechtenstein, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Sierra, Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Kingdom, USA, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela and Zambia.

The following nationals can be issued a visa on arrival to Jamaica. A visa can be issued on arrival (for $20) in Jamaica to nationals of:

 Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Monaco, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Yugoslavia and Macedonia.

Nationals from other countries must obtain a visa prior to arrival in Jamaica.

Additional Visa/Entry Requirements Information