Martinique Island


Martinique Island 

Martinique is an island in the eastern Caribbean Sea, with a land area of 436 square miles. It is an overseas region of France. To the northwest lies Dominica, to the south St. Lucia, and to the southeast Barbados. Its official language is French, although many of its inhabitants also speak Antillean Creole. Source


mp of Martinqe



Weather and Climate of Martinique Island

Everyday temperatures on Martinique vary around an average of 27° C, with a maximum of 32 ° C and only rarely descend lower than 20 ° C. Once in a while, in the months of December and January, however, emperatures can fall to under 20 ° C at night. Eastern winds referred to as Trade Winds contribute to the moderation of the region’s tropical heat.

During the dry season the actual amount of rain depends on the geographical situation and not on the overall tropical climate. Trade winds from the north-east and the east bring on the rain, in the form of lighter showers during the dry season (Lent) between January and April, and heavier downpours in the rainy season (Winter) from June to November. The rainiest month is August without doubt, and the best time to come avoid the rain is in March.

Winter months are rather wet, with regular downpours and only few dry days. August and September are hurricane months, when these unpleasant and dangerous storms may condemn visitors to a couple of days spent idling away in your hotel room.

Humidity, though, is present all year round, which accounts for the great number of particular species endemic to the islands. Don’t forget that day dawns early in the Tropics (between 5 and 6 a.m.), and the sun consequently sets not later than in the middle of the afternoon, between 5:30 and 6:30 pm. Source

Martinique Island Temperature

Click for Caravelle, Martinique Forecast

To enter Martinique visitors must have:

A valid passport
A return or onward ticket if flying by commercial carrier

Nationals from the following countries do not need visas to visit Martinique:

European countries, Argentina, Australia, Bulgaria, Brunei, Canada, Chile, South Korea, Costa Rica,
Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Japan, Malta, Mexico, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Panama, Paraguay, San Marino, the Vatican, Singapore, Uruguay, USA and Venezuela.

Nationals from other countries need to obtain a visa prior to arrival.

Additional Visa/Entry Requirements Information