U.S. Virgin Islands


U.S. Virgin Islands

The Virgin Islands of the United States are a group of islands in the Caribbean that are an insular area of the United States. The islands are geographically part of the Virgin Islands archipelago and are located in the Leeward Islands of the Lesser Antilles. The main islands of Saint Croix ,Saint John, and Saint Thomas, along with the much smaller but historically distinct WaterIsland, and many other surrounding minor islands. Source

map of .S. Virgin Islands

 Weather and Climate of U.S. Virgin Islands

The Virgin Islands does not experience significant seasonal changes, therefore weather and temperatures are fairly consistent year round.

June, July and August tend to be the hottest months with temperatures in the mid 80s and December through February cooler months with high 70 degree temperatures. The variation between the average hottest summer day and the average coolest winter day is about 18 degrees.

The Virgin Islands does not have a rainy season, however there are month to month differences. The rainiest months in the Virgin Islands are November, October, September, August and May.

Rainy months do not mean that there is continuous rainfall every day all month long; in fact most daily rainfall reports are below .10 inches. Rain showers are often short and typically occur early in the morning or at night. On a truly rainy day, it will rain off and on for the entire day. All day downpours over numerous days are not common. The driest months are typically February and March.

One of the greatest natural threats in the Virgin Islands is hurricanes.  Atlantic hurricane season runs from June 1st to November 30th with the highest occurrences of storms in August and September. Source

U. S. Virgin Islands Temperature

Click for Saint Croix, Virgin Islands Forecast

The entry requirements for U.S. Virgin Island are the same as for entry requirements into the United States.

To enter the U.S. Virgin Islands visitors must have:

A passport valid for at 6 months from the date arrival
A hotel reservation or letter of invitation, (if staying with friends)
A return or onward ticket if flying by commercial carrier

Nationals from the following countries are eligible for the visa waiver program:

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

The visa waiver is valid for a maximum of 90 days.

Additional Visa/Entry Requirements Information