Malta Island



Malta Island

Malta, officially known as the Republic of Malta, is a Southern European country consisting of an archipelago situated in the center of the Mediterranean, 80 km (50 mi) south of Sicily and 284 km (176 mi) east of Tunisia. Malta covers just over 316 km2 (122 sq mi) in land area, making it one of the world’s smallest states. The country has two official languages, Maltese
(considered the national language) and English. Source

Malta is a member of the Schengen Countries.

The Schengen Countries are a group of European countries that have signed a treaty to end internal border checkpoints and controls. Visitors with a Schengen visa, you may enter one country and travel freely throughout the Schengen zone.

Currently there are 26 countries in the group. The Schengen Countries are:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

map of Malta


Weather and Climate of Malta Island

Malta’s weather and climate are strongly influenced by the sea and have a very characteristic Mediterranean flavor, similar to that found in southern Italy or southern Greece.

The climate is typically Mediterranean, with hot, dry summers, warm and sporadically wet autumns, and short,
cool winters with adequate rainfall. Nearly three-fourths of the total annual rainfall of about 600 millimeters
falls between October and March; June, July, and August are normally quite dry.

The temperature is very stable, the annual mean being 18ºC (64ºF) and the monthly averages ranging from 12º C (54ºF) to 31ºC (88ºF).

Winds are strong and frequent; the most common are the cool northwesterly (majjistral), the dry northeasterly (grigal, or gregale), and the hot humid southeasterly (xlokk, or sirocco). The relative humidity is consistently high and rarely falls below 40%.

Winters are mild with only rare occurrences of cold weather brought by north and northeast winds from central Europe. In fact, daytime winter temperatures almost never fall below 10ºC (50ºF), while night-time winter temperatures never fall below 0ºC (32ºF).

Most of Malta’s rainfall falls during autumn and winter, mostly from thunderstorms which make
up most of the rainfall from September to December. It is usually mild in Malta during the winter,
with plenty of sunshine, too, with daytime temperatures usually 15ºC (59ºF) or above and sometimes
also around 20ºC (68ºF).

Summers are warm, dry and very sunny. The weather usually shows signs of warming up in April,
heralding in a long spell of hot, dry weather. It rarely rains from April to August. July and August are
Malta’s hottest months with daytime temperatures usually above 30ºC (86ºF) and quite often also
above 35ºC (95ºF).

Annual rainfall in Malta is rather low – approximately 600mm (24 inches) and the length of the dry6season in summer is longer than in southern Italy. Malta has a very sunny climate with an average of five to six hours of sunshine a day in midwinter and over twelve hours a day in mid-summer. Source

Malta Island Temperature

Click for Luqa, Malta Forecast

To enter Malta visitors must have:

A passport valid for at 3 months beyond their intended stay
Two blank pages in their passports

Visitors from the following countries can stay up to 90 days in Malta with a visa:

Albania, Andorra, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium,
Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech
Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras
Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, St Kitts and Nevis, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City and Venezuela.

Additional Visa/Entry Requirements Information