Guam Island



General information about Guam Island

Guam, an island territory of the Unites States, is located 900 miles north of the equator in the Western Pacific. From four to eight miles in width and 32 mileslong, Guam covers approximately 220 square miles (549 sq. km) – the largest island in Micronesia and the gateway to the region. It is approximately 6,000 miles from San Francisco, 3,800 miles west of Honolulu, 1,500 miles south of Japanand 1,596 miles from the Philippines.

The southern most of the Mariana Islands, Guam shares a common culture with the rest of the group, which includes Saipan, Rota and Tinian. Guam was created from the peaks of two ancient volcanoes that were fused together millions of years ago. The capital of Guam is Hagåtña (Agana). Source

 map of Guam

Weather and Climate of Guam Island

Guam’s climate is tropical, with year round warm weather. Temperatures range from 21 to 32?C, with high humidity. Two clearly defined seasons exist: a dry season and a rainy season. The period from January to May constitutes the dry season in Tumon (the center of tourist activity) and the peak tourist season. Although this time is called the ‘dry’ season, the humidity is still quite high, and light cotton clothing is recommended.

The rainy season runs from July to November; and the months of June and December are variable – some years dry and sometimes rainy. Both seasons are affected by the easterly trade winds, which sometimes evolve into dangerous tropical storms.

Typhoons also can occur, so it is advised that you keep aware of weather forecasts. Source

 Guam Island Temperature

Click for Agana Heights, Guam Forecast

To enter the Guam visitors must have:

A passport valid for at 6 months from the date arrival
A hotel reservation or letter of invitation, (if staying with friends)
A return or onward ticket if flying by commercial carrier

Guam has the same visa waiver program as the United States of America. Nationals from the following countries do not need a visa for short stays:

Australia, Brunei, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, South of Korea, United Kingdom, Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Czech Republic,
Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

 Additional Visa/Entry Requirements Information