Samoa Island



Samoa Islands

Samoa, officially the Independent State of Samoa, formerly known as Western Samoa, is a country encompassing the western part of the Samoan Islands in the South Pacific Ocean. Samoa is located south of the equator, about halfway between Hawai‘i and New Zealand. The total land area is 1,133 square miles, about the size of the two Hawaii islands Oahu and Maui combined.

The two main islands of Samoa are Upoluand Savai’i. The capital city, Apia, and Faleolo International Airport are situated on the island of Upolu.

Samoa was admitted to the United Nations on 15 December 1976. The entire island group, inclusive of American Samoa, was called Navigators Islands by European explorers before the 20th century because of the Samoans’ seafaring skills. Source

map of Samoa

Weather and Climate of the Samoan Islands

Samoa enjoys a typical tropical maritime climate, with two distinct seasons. From November to April it is the hot, rainy season, with temperatures ranging up to 30 oC and around 3 cms of rain falling on a typical day. The afternoon rains and accompanying trade winds have a welcome cooling effect. This season is also the time each year when cyclones may occur.

From May to November it is the cool, dry season – less humidity, and slightly lower temperatures.

Samao Islands Temperature

Click for Apia, Samoa Forecast

To enter Samoa visitors must have:

A passport valid for 6 months after their departure date
An onward or return ticket
Documentation for accommodation arrangements (hotel booking, etc)
Documented evidence of sufficient money for their stay (copy of a bank statement)

Visitors to Samoa do not need an entry permit for stays of 30 days or less.

Additional Visa/Entry Requirements Information